Readings for Prelims Sports

Winners of latest major cricketing events

Ranji Trophy 2019

Vidarbha won the trophy second time. They were defending champions. The final took place between Vidarbha and Saurashtra, starting on 3 February 2019. Vidarbha defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs in the final, to become the sixth team in the tournament’s history to retain their title.

Irani Cup

It was played as a one-off match between the Vidarbha (the winner of the 2018–19 Ranji Trophy) and Rest of India cricket team, from 12 February 2019 to 16 February 2019.Player of the Match was Akshay Karnewar (Vidarbha).

IPL 2018

Chennai Super Kings were crowned as winners by defeating SunRisers Hyderabad. Shane Watson remained unbeaten on 117 helping Chennai Super Kings clinch their third IPL title after an 8-wicket win over SunRisers Hyderabad.

2017 ICC Champions Trophy 

In an outstanding performance Pakistan beat India comfortably to win their maiden ICC Champions Trophy, outclassing them across all departments to win by 180 runs, which was the largest margin of victory in the final of an ICC ODI tournament. The final of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy was played on 18 June at The Oval in London, to determine the winner of the eighth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy. Pakistan qualified for the final by defeating the hosts England convincingly by 8 wickets in the first semi-final at Cardiff in Wales on 14 June, and reached their maiden Champions Trophy final. India, the defending champions and favourites, came into the final by defeating Bangladesh comfortably by 9 wickets in the second semi-final at Birmingham on 15 June, to reach their fourth Champions Trophy final, a record. Pakistan, who were massive underdogs entering as the lowest-ranked team in the competition, became the seventh nation to win the Champions Trophy, and it was their first ICC ODI tournament title since 1992. Fakhar Zaman of Pakistan received the Man of the Match award for scoring a sublime 114. Shikhar Dhawan of India received the Golden Bat award for scoring 338 runs in the tournament while Hasan Ali of Pakistan received the Golden Ball award for taking 13 wickets; he was also adjudged the Man of the Series for his outstanding contribution towards Pakistan’s first ICC tournament title since 2009.

The ICC Champions Trophy was a one day international (ODI) cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council(ICC), second in importance only to the Cricket World Cup. It was inaugurated as the ICC KnockOut Tournament in 1998 and has been played approximately every four years since. Its name was changed to the Champions Trophy in 2002.

A total of thirteen teams competed in the eight editions of the tournament, with eight competing in the last edition in 2017. ICC Champions Trophy was scrapped keeping in line with ICC’s goal of having only one pinnacle tournament for each of the three formats of international cricket. Australia and India have won the tournament twice each (India’s 2002 win was shared with Sri Lanka), while South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka (shared with India), West Indies and Pakistan have won it once each. No non-full member team has ever crossed the first round of the Champions Trophy.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Australia defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets to win their fifth ICC Cricket World Cup. Fourteen teams played 49 matches in 14 venues. The hosting rights were awarded at the same time as those of the 2011 Cricket World Cup, which Australia and New Zealand had originally bid to host, and the 2019 Cricket World Cup, which was awarded to England. The ICC Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), every four years, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament. The tournament is one of the world’s most viewed sporting events and is considered the “flagship event of the international cricket calendar” by the ICC. The first World Cup was organised in England in June 1975, with the first ODI cricket match having been played only four years earlier. From the 1987 tournament onwards, hosting has been shared between countries under an unofficial rotation system, with fourteen ICC members having hosted at least one match in the tournament. The World Cup is open to all members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), although the highest-ranking teams receive automatic qualification. The remaining teams are determined via the World Cricket League and the ICC World Cup Qualifier.

2018 Under-19 Cricket World Cup

The 2018 Under-19 Cricket World Cup was held in New Zealand. India and Australia played in the finals at Mount Maunganui on Feb 3 2018. It was the 12th Edition of the Under-19 World Cup. India defeated Australia by 8 wickets, with Manjot Kalra scoring a match-winning 101.

2017 ICC Women’s World Cup

The 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup Final was a one-day international cricket match played between England and India to decide the winner of the 2017 Women’s World Cup. England won the game by nine runs to secure their fourth World Cup title, with Anya Shrubsole named player of the match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *