You are here
Home > Latest Posts > National Affairs > Three Congress CM-designates to take oath

Three Congress CM-designates to take oath

Three Congress CM-designates to take oath

After days of lengthy deliberations and lot of speculations, the Congress chief minister-designates of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh will take the oath of office on December 17, 2018. Several Opposition leaders are likely to attend the ceremonies in Bhopal, Jaipur and Raipur to show their solidarity in view of 2019 Loksabha Elections.

For Madhya Pradesh, veteran leader Kamal Nath has been named as the CM candidate. In Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot will take oath as the CM for his third stint in office along with deputy CM Sachin Pilot. Bhupesh Baghel has been announced as the CM candidate for Chhattisgarh.

Four days after achieving a landslide victory in Mizoram after 10 years, Mizo National Front (MNF) president Zoramthanga  took oath on December 15, 2018 as the chief minister along with 11 other party members at the Raj Bhawan in Aizawl. This is the third time he has been elected to head the northeastern state since 1998.

Senior MNF leader Twanluia was sworn in as the deputy chief minister on the largely Christian occasion marked by Bible reading and a church choir singing “Hallelujah”, with no senior BJP leader in attendance. This gains significance in the light of the party distancing itself from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at the state level on account of the BJP’s “hardcore Hindutva” ideology. BD Chakma — Congress turncoat-turned-lone BJP victor in Mizoram — did not attend the glittering event either.

The MNF, however, remains a founder-member of the North-East Democratic Alliance — a non-Congress political front led by the BJP — and a part of the NDA at the centre.


Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao was sworn in on December 3, 2018 as the chief minister of India’s youngest state for his second successive term in power. Andhra Pradesh and Telangana governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oaths of office and secrecy to Rao, popularly known as KCR, at a ceremony at the Raj Bhavan, which lasted five minutes. Senior TRS leader Mohammad Mahmood Ali was sworn in as a cabinet minister. He was a deputy chief minister in the previous term and is expected to retain the position this time, too. The swearing-in ceremony took place two days after TRS won a landslide victory in the December 7 elections to the 119-member assembly, fending off a united challenge posed by the Maha Kootami – an alliance of the Congress, Telugu Desam Party, Communist Party of India and the Telangana Jana Samithi.


The swearing-in ceremony of Chief Minister-designate Ashok Gehlot and deputy Chief Minister-designate Sachin Pilot is scheduled to take place at Jaipur’s historic Albert Hall on Monday at 10am. Congress party chief Rahul Gandhi and senior party leader Mallikarjun Kharge are expected to attend the ceremony along with a host of other leaders from across the political spectrum.

Former prime ministers H D Deve Gowda and Manmohan Singh, National Conference’s Farooq Abdullah and Telugu Desam Party’s N Chandrababu Naidu and Loktantrik Janata Dal leader Sharad Yadav are some of the political bigwigs who would grace the event. According to sources in Congress, Rashtriya Janata Dal’s Tejashwi Yadav, DMK’s M K Stalin and Kanimozhi, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s Hemant Soren, Janata Vikas Morcha’s Babulal Marandi and All India United Democratic Front leader Badruddin Ajmal are also likely to participate. AAP MLA Sanjay Singh will attend the ceremony in Jaipur.

Election results of 2018 Assembly Elections


Bahujan Samaj Party 2
Bharatiya Janata Party 15
Indian National Congress 68
Janata Congress Chhatisgarh(J) 5

Madhya Pradesh

Bahujan Samaj Party 2
Bharatiya Janata Party 109
Indian National Congress 114
Samajwadi Party 1
Independent 4


Bharatiya Janata Party 1
Indian National Congress 5
Mizo National Front 26
Independent 8


Bahujan Samaj Party 6
Bharatiya Janata Part 73
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 2
Indian National Congress 99
Bharatiya Tribal Party 2
Rashtriya Lok Dal 1
Rashtriya Loktantrik Party 3
Independent 13


Bharatiya Janata Party 1
Indian National Congress 19
Telangana Rashtra Samiti 88
Telugu Desham 2
All India Forward Block 1
Independent 1

Leave a Reply