The 2018 Wimbledon Championships

The 2018 Wimbledon Championships, a Grand Slam tennis tournament, took place at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London, United Kingdom. The main tournament began on Monday, 2 July 2018 and finished on Sunday, 15 July 2018. Novak Djokovic won the Gentleman’s Singles title and Angelique Kerber won the Ladies Singles title. The 2018 tournament was the 132nd edition of The Championships, the 125th staging of the Ladies’ Singles Championship event, the 51st in the Open Era and the third Grand Slam tournament of the year. It was played on grass courts and was part of the ATP World Tour, the WTA Tour, the ITF Junior tour and the NEC Tour. The tournament was organised by All England Lawn Tennis Club and International Tennis Federation.

Roger Federer and Garbiñe Muguruza were both unsuccessful in defending their 2017 titles. Federer lost in the quarterfinals to eventual finalist Kevin Anderson, while Muguruza lost in the second round to Alison Van Uytvanck.

The list of champions in the main categories is as follows:

Men’s Singles– Novak Djokovic

Women’s Singles– Angelique Kerber

Men’s Doubles– Mike Bryan/ Jack Sock

Women’s Doubles-Barbora Krejčíková /Kateřina Siniaková

Mixed Doubles-Alexander Peya /Nicole Melichar

Boys’ Singles-Tseng Chun-hsin

Girls’ Singles-Iga Świątek

Boys Doubles-Yankı Erel /Otto Virtanen

Girls’ Doubles-Wang Xinyu / /Wang Xiyu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *