You are here
Home > Latest Posts > Quick Scan > Prizes and Awards

South Africa wins Miss Universe 2017

South Africa wins Miss Universe 2017

Miss Universe 2017 was the 66th Miss Universe pageant, held on 26 November 2017. The event was held at The AXIS at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas, Nevada, United States.  Nel-Peters, a 22-year-old Business management graduate from South Africa received her Miss Universe 2017 crown from Miss Universe 2016 Iris Mittenaere of France during finals night at the Planet Hollywood

Nobel Prize Winners (2017)

Nobel Prize Winners (2017)

  Noble for Physiology or Medicine -- Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash Michael W. Young- "for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm" Physics-- Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish, Kip Thorne- "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves" Chemistry-- Jacques Dubochet, Richard Henderson, Joachim Frank -

Grammy awards 2017

Grammy awards 2017

Grammy Awards ceremony was held on February 12, 2017. The CBS network broadcast the show live from the Staples Center in Los Angeles. The ceremony recognized the best recordings, compositions, and artists of the eligibility year, which runs from October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016. James Corden hosted the ceremony for the first time. The "pre-telecast" ceremony (officially named The

Khel Ratna and Arjuna award announced


The award selection committee announced and sent names to the Sports Ministry for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna awards on August 03, 2017 .Two-time Paralympic gold medallist Devendra Jhajharia is the first paralympian to be recommended for the country’s highest sporting honour — the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

Filmfare Awards 2017 Announced, Amir Best Actor

Filmfare Awards

62nd  Filmfare Awards ceremony, presented by the Filmfare magazine, honored the best Hindi language Indian films of 2016. The ceremony was held on 14 January 2017 and was co-hosted by Kapil Sharma, Karan Johar and Shahrukh Khan. Aamir Khan took away the Best Actor Award for his impressive performance in Dangal film.

Oscars 2016: The 88th Academy Awards

The 88th Academy Awards ceremony alternatively known as "the Oscars", presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), honored the best films of 2015 (February 28, 2016: Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles). AMPAS presented Academy Awards (commonly referred to as Oscars) in 24 categories. Spotlight won two awards including Best Picture, and Mad Max: Fury Road won six awards, the most for

Nobel Prizes 2016

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2016- David J. Thouless, F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz: "for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter" The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016- Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa: "for the design and synthesis of molecular machines" The