You are here
Home > Latest Posts > Strategist > Readings for Prelims > Indian Games: National Champions 2018-19

Indian Games: National Champions 2018-19

Santosh Trophy 2019

The 2019 Santosh Trophy Final was a match between Services and Punjab on 21 April 2019 in Ludhiana, Punjab in which the former won. The match was a culmination of the 2018–19 Santosh Trophy, the 73rd edition of the football competition contested by regional state associations and government institutions under the All India Football Federation. Services won their sixth title by defeating Punjab 1–0. Bikash Thapa was declared the Man of the Match.

National Championship Hockey India (Senior Men)

  Punjab has won the 8th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship title at the Padma Shri Mohammad Shahid Synthetic HockeyStadium in Lucknow on March 25, 2018. The Final of the 8th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2018 (A Division) . Punjab defeated Petroleum Sports Promotion Board 2-1 in a well-fought encounter. The Defending Champions Railway Sports Promotion Board beat Air India Sports Promotion Board 5-3 in a game decided by penalty shoot out for clinching the Bronze medal.

Women Senior Hockey National 2018

Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) on Sunday lifted the 8th Senior National Women’s Hockey Championship title, thrashing Madhya Pradesh 4-0 in the final to finish the tournament without losing a game. In the bronze medal match, Haryana beat home team Jharkhand 2-0.

National Volleyball Championship 2019

Karnataka men and Kerala women emerged winners in the 67th Senior National Volleyball Championship at Nehru indoor stadium in Chennai. In a clash on January 01, 2019 in  67th National Volleyball Championship at the Nehru Indoor Stadium,  Karnataka defeated Tamil Nadu to win win their maiden national senior (men) crown 3-1 (21-25, 36-34, 25-18, 25-14 In the women’s summit clash, Railways  defeated Kerala.

National Badminton Championship 2019

In the Women’s section, Saina Nehwal displayed a brilliant game in the final as she registered a comfortable win against PV Sindhu to retain title on Februar , 2019. Saina outplayed her opponent in a match that lasted just over 30 minutes. She beat beats PV Sindhu 21-18, 21-15 in straight games to retain women’s singles title. This is now the fourth national title for Saina.

In the men’s section Sourabh Verma completed a hat-trick of titles at the Senior Badminton Nationals, claiming the men’s singles crown after defeating young Lakshya Sen in straight games, in the 83rd edition of the tournament in Guwahati on Saturday.

The 26-year-old, who had won the title in 2011 and 2017, showed great composure and tactical brilliance to outdo the 17-year-old Lakshya, an Asian junior champion, 21-18 21-13 in a lop-sided contest.

National Lawn Tennis Championship 2018 or Fenesta Open national tennis championships

Siddharth Vishwakarma stunned top seed Arjun Kadhe to clinch the men’s singles at the Fenesta Open national tennis championships (Delhi; October 06 , 2018) . Serving with power and hitting ferocious strokes, Siddharth won 6-2, 6-7 (2), 6-3 to grab his maiden national title.

In the women’s final, Mahak Jain was too good for Natasha Palha. The 17-year-old raced to a 6-1, 6-2 victory, claiming her second successive national title. Mahak showed the most consistent game all week, chasing every ball and hitting deep to create openings. Playing in junior Grand Slams has raised the confidence of the Indore teenager.

In the boys’ under-18 final, Siddhanth Banthia lived up to the promise, beating Calvin Golmei 7-6, 6-2. The girls’ under-18 title was won by Humera Shaik, who beat Rashmikaa Bhamidipaty 6-2, 6-4.

National Table Tennis Championship 2019

Veteran A. Sharath Kamal and youngster Archana Kamath both scripted history while becoming the singles national champion in men’s and women’s events, respectively, on the concluding day of the 80th 11Sports National Table Tennis Championship. Kamlesh Mehta had won eight national titles.

While Sharath saved a match point before scraping past his arch-rival and Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) team-mate G. Sathiyan in the grand finale that lived up to its reputation at the packed J.N. Indoor Stadium arena to win a record ninth National championship title, Kamath became the second-youngest female National champion after edging past West Bengal’s Krittwika Sinha Roy.

Leave a Reply